Minor FC Shield Final: Na Fianna 2-07 Dunboyne 2-0

    Minor FC Div 4 Shield Final: Na Fianna Hold off Dunboyne Comeback to Clinch Win


    Na Fianna: 2-07

    St Peter’s, Dunboyne: 2-06


    Na Fianna held on to claim the MFC Div 4 Shield on a wet Wednesday night in Dunganny.


    With both sides wearing their away jerseys due to the clash of colours, Na Fianna faced a strong wind in the first half, but fared quite well. Both sides matched each other with points in the opening exchanges with Sean McDonnell proving accurate from frees, hitting 0-3.

    Dunboyne hit a fortunate goal to take the lead but Stephen Maher finished well to the net almost immediately as Na Fianna levelled it up again. Mark Murphy brilliantly disposed a Dunboyne defender, and fed Sean McDonnell who played a high ball in for Maher to get on the end of and take his goal.


    Oisin Bright and Maher added a point each to send Na Fianna into the half time break 1-05 to 1-03 ahead.


    Dunboyne rallied well in the opening minutes of the second half, hitting the opening two points. Paddy Flynn replied for Na Fianna with a point and Stephen Maher scored his second goal after twenty minutes. Soon after, Dunboyne hit a goal to go ahead.  Sean McDonnell replied again with a point and some stout defending from Na Fianna enabled them to hold off some late pressure to clinch the win.


    Na Fianna had excellent performers throughout with standout showings from Senan Fagan, Jake McCreddan, Oisin Bright, Mark Murphy, Sean McDonnell and two goal hero Stephen Maher.


     Meath Minor Board Secretary Brian Kelly, after enduring the elements collecting money at the gate all evening, was on hand to present the Shield to Na Fianna Joint Captains Jake McCreddan and Senan Fagan to the delight of the large band of Na Fianna supporters.


    Na Fianna:

    Val Griffin, Sean Maguire, Senan Fagan, Thomas Cullen, Rory Fagan, Kevin Korzeniewski, Sean Doherty, Jake McCreddan, Oisin Bright (0-1), Paddy Flynn (0-1), Ben Stewart, Cillian Forde, Mark Murphy, Stephen Maher (2-01), Sean McDonnell (0-4).

    Subs used: Jack Hanley, Ben Hatton-Walsh, Cathal Heffernan, Caelan Ryle.



    Important Contacts Na Fianna

    Secretary: Cathal Coffey (Cathal Ó'Cobhthaigh) Email- Secretary.nafianna.meath@gaa.ie.

    PRO: Email-  Pro.nafianna.meath@gaa.ie

    Children's Protection Officer: Jenny Boggan

    Designated Liaison Person: Carmel O'Reilly Higgins

    Appointed Mandated Person: Philipa Flynn