MFC Shield Semi FinaL NF 2-13, GC 2-07

    Minor Football Championship Shield Semi Final: Na Fianna Show Amazing Change of Fortunes to Reach Final:


    MFC Div 4:

    Na Fianna 2-13

    Gaeil Colmcille: 2-07


    Na Fianna progressed to the Shield semi-final after overcoming Gaeil Colmcille in Grangegodden on Saturday afternoon.

    Na Fianna have really turned their year around, having lost heavily in many games this year, including against this opposition during the summer, but a recent revival in form has seen them reach the final.




    An early goal from Gaeil Colmcille had them under pressure, but the lads recovered and produced a decent first half showing. Sean McDonnell (3), Paddy Flynn (2) along with single points from Rory Fagan and Ben Stewart had Na Fianna 0-7 to 2-02 behind at half time.


    Na Fianna hit an early goal themselves on the resumption, after Oisin Bright buried to the net. The home side replied with two points, but McDonnell and Flynn responded with points to keep Na Fianna in front.

    Stephen Maher also claimed a fine long range point along with another Oisin Bright point. Substitute Jack Hanley made a massive impact, burying to the net shortly after coming on to give the visitors a cushion of six points. Again, Gaeil Colmcille hit points of their own but further points from McDonnell and super-sub Hanley helped the away side secure the win.


    Great performances from players in every position contributed to this fine win, which leads Na Fianna to a final meeting with St Peter’s, Dunboyne.



    Val Griffin, Sean Maguire, Senan Fagan, Caelan Ryle, Rory Fagan (0-1), Kevin Korzeniewski, Thomas Cullen, Jake McCreddan, Oisin Bright (1-01), Cillian Forde, Ben Stewart (0-1), Sean McDonnell (0-5), Paddy Flynn (0-3), Mark Murphy, Stephen Maher (0-1).

    Subs used: Cathal Heffernan, Jack Hanley (1-01).



    Important Contacts Na Fianna

    Secretary: Cathal Coffey (Cathal Ó'Cobhthaigh) Email- Secretary.nafianna.meath@gaa.ie.

    PRO: Email-  Pro.nafianna.meath@gaa.ie

    Children's Protection Officer: Jenny Boggan

    Designated Liaison Person: Carmel O'Reilly Higgins

    Appointed Mandated Person: Philipa Flynn