BFL Div 2 Final: Na Fianna lose out to strong Duns

    Mens Football B League Division 2 Final

    16th July 2019


    Na Fianna V Dunshauglin

    Dunshauglin where quick of the mark as they scored 1 point in the first minute. But it was Na Fianna who took early control with good movement and play Resulting in points from Evan Henrick(2)a nd Jack McNally giving Na Fianna a 2 point lead 8 minutes into the game.

    When Michael Farley had to come due to injury and Dunshauglin got another point to narrow the gap. But Na Fianna kept working the ball and a foul on Jack McNally gave Na Fianna another free which Jack pointed.

    Then Na Fianna suffered another loss of Andrew Glynn due to injury, Dunshauglin kicked a long distance point from play again bringing the gap to 1. Dean Barrett followed up by a point but with Dunshauglin scoring the next two points the game was level in the 22nd minute.

    The final few minutes of the half saw Seán Coyle pull of a fine save and some great movement by Evan Henrick who then passed the ball for Damien Downey to score the final point of the half.  Giving a half time lead of 1 point to Na Fianna.

    The second half was all Dunshauglin and they scored 1 goal 2 points before Na Fianna got their 1st point from a free in the 11th minute.

    As the half progressed things did not improve for Na Fianna with Dunshauglin adding another 2 goals and a point before Na Fianna got another point.

    In the last 10 minutes of the game Na Fianna did have one glimmer of hope when Seán Coffey broke out from the backs and passed a fine ball to Evan Henrick who then score Na Fianna’s only goal.

    Despite some good defending and interceptions Na Fianna could not keep with the pace and movement in the Dunshauglin side. Na Fianna unfortunately failed to score again.

    Final score was:

    Na Fianna: 1- 8 (4 free)

    Dunshauglin 4- 10


    Na Fianna Team:

    1                     Seán Coyle

    2                     Daniel Gleeson

    3                     Christy Cosgrave

    4                     Stephen Slevin

    5                     Jarleth Ennis

    6                     Tommy Cosgrave

    7                     Seán Coffey

    8                     Brian Queeney

    9                     Evan Henrick

    10                 Andrew Glynn

    11                 Evan Mullally

    12                 Ben Cauldwell

    13                 Damien Downey

    14                 (24)Jack McNally

    15                 Michael Farley


    Evan Hendrick (1-02), Damien Downey (0-01), Jack McNally (0-04 (4f), Dean Barret (0-01)


    Subs Used:

    Dean Barrett, Kevin Coffey, Seanie Griffin, Glen McDonald, Ciarán Keogh, Ciaran McDonnell.



    Important Contacts Na Fianna

    Secretary: Cathal Coffey (Cathal Ó'Cobhthaigh) Email- Secretary.nafianna.meath@gaa.ie.

    PRO: Email-  Pro.nafianna.meath@gaa.ie

    Children's Protection Officer: Jenny Boggan

    Designated Liaison Person: Carmel O'Reilly Higgins

    Appointed Mandated Person: Philipa Flynn