JAFC- Na Fianna lose out to Gael Colmcille in 1st

    ‘Na Fianna lose out to Gael Colmcille in 1st round’


    Match Report

    Junior A Championship

    Round 1- 13th April

    Na Fianna V Gael Colmcille

    Venue: Trim GAA


    On a very cold and windy day in Trim Na Fianna had a disappointing start to the Junior

    Championship. This was their first outing at this grade since winning the Junior B last year, however the inaccuracy of shots in the windy conditions proved to be a key factor in the games result.

    Gael Colmcille started the brighter and had two points on the board before Jack McNally pointed Na Fianna's first free five minutes into the game. However by the 9th minute the Gael Colmcille men had 1goal 3 points on the board while all efforts by Na Fianna were wide or blocked by some fine defending by the Kells men. Na Fianna had some good defending and interceptions on display preventing the Gael Colmcille men having it all their way. The ball moved up and down the pitch but neither team scored for the next 10 minutes. Then Gael Colmcille got a point. Gael Colmcille again broke through the Na Fianna defence in the 27th minute to score their 2nd goal and almost immediately followed that with another point which proved to be the their final point of the half.


    However it was nearly the half hour before Ben Caudwell managed to break through the strong Kells defense to get Na Fianna’s second point. Leaving a half time score of 2 Goals 5 Points to Gael Colmcille to 2 Points Na Fianna.


    Na Fianna introduced Kevin Coffey at the start of the second half and Ciaran McDonnell was introduced shortly afterwards. Na Fianna were working the ball amongst the players and maintaining more of the possession in the second half but, where finding shooting opportunities were difficult to create. However, it was Gael Colmcille who got the first point of the half. There were some hefty challenges as Na Fianna pushed in attack with Evan Mullally coming on to replace the injured Ben Caudwell. Na Fianna had to wait until the 13th minute of the second half to register their first point from a Jack McNally free. 


    In the 15th minute Ronan Byrne worked the ball out of defense and pushing into the attack with some good interplay finally kicked the ball over the bar to give Na Fianna their 2nd point of the half and their first from play. After a great catch and interception by Brian Queeney who pushed forward into the attack and released a pass to Mark Slevin who duly pointed to increase Na Fianna’s tally to 5 points.


    Na Fianna where finally getting into the flow, with the better movement of the ball and Jack McNally added to the tally but that ten minute spell was as good as it got. The Gael Colmcille men started to come back and add to their tally with 2 points and despite some good play and attempts from Na Fianna they failed to score again in the game. In the final minutes there where a few scuffles resulting in some yellow card to both sides and one red to Gael Colmcille however the Kells men added 2 more points and with a misdirected kickout going directly to the Kells forward who immediately returned the ball to find the net for their 3rd goal. This was immediately followed by another point to finish the game. 


    Final score:

    Na Fianna 0-06

    Gael Colmcille 3-11


    1. Sean Coyle, 2. Jarleth Ennis, 3. Christie Cosgrave, 4. Eoin Downey, 5. Sean Coffey, 6. Tommy Cosgrave, 7. Ronan Byrne, 8. Brian Queeney, 9. Jack McNally, 10. Lee Hyland, 11. Paul Kennedy, 12. Ben Caudwell, 13. Glen McDonal, 14. Mark Slevin, 15. Damien Downey


    Scorers: Jack McNally 3 Points (2frees), Ben Caudwell 1 point, Ronan Byrne 1 point, Mark Slevin 1 Point.

    Subs Used: Kevin Coffey, Ciaran McDonald , Evan McNally, Connor Heffernan, Eoin Stewart and Ciaran Keogh.



    Important Contacts Na Fianna

    Secretary: Nicola Kilcoyne Email- Secretary.nafianna.meath@gaa.ie.

    PRO: Siobhán Kirby Email-  Pro.nafianna@gmail.com

    Children's Protection Officer: Jenny Boggan

    Designated Liaison Person: Carmel O'Reilly Higgins

    Appointed Mandated Person: Phillipa Flynn