AFL Div 1 Rd 1: Na Fianna 0-06 Summerhill 1-12

    All County A Football League Division 1 Round 1

    Summerhill 1.12

    Na Fianna 0.06

    Na Fianna started with the wind but failed to take full advantage. Shane Walsh of Na Fianna missed a goal chance in the 20th minute. This was their best opportunity of the first half. Na Fianna conceded a number of frees in the first half but, Summerhill didn't take full advantage, only scoring from two set pieces. 

    Summerhill were putting the Na Fianna defence was under a lot of pressure and in the 27th minute Sean Coyle made a tremendous save, this being one of many that he made during the game.

    Jack McNally of Na Fianna scored one free following a foul by a Summerhill player which resulted in a yellow card. Both teams went in level at 4 points each at half time.

    Na Fianna replaced Brian Queeney with Jamie Queeney at half time who caught some excellent high balls and created a number of scoring opportunities for his team mates. Unfortunately , the best chance fell to Conor Downey who was unlucky to see his shot go just wide of the post.

    Luke Kelly replaced Jack McNally after 45 minutes registered Na Fianna’s first point of the second half. Summerhill played better in the second half and put the Na Fianna defence under a lot of pressure. Sean Coyle again came to Na Fianna rescue on a number of occasions but could do nothing to stop their goal. Summerhill pointed four frees in the second half and made better use of the conditions to run out victors.

    1 Sean Coyle, 2 Sean Rafferty, 3 Evan Mullally, 4 Daniel Devine, 5 Damien Downey, 6 Anthony Neary, 7 James Geagan, 8 Michael Collins, 9 Brian Queeney, 10 Jack Mc Nally (0.01 (F)), 11 Connor Downey (0.02), 12 Sean Coffey (0.01), 13 Shane Walsh (0.01), 14 John Baldwin, 15 Sean Martin


    Subs Used:

    Jamie Queeney half time for Brian Queeney , Luke Kelly (0.01) (45 Min) for Jack McNally and Mark Slevin (55 Min) for James Geagan .




    Important Contacts Na Fianna

    Secretary: Nicola Kilcoyne Email- Secretary.nafianna.meath@gaa.ie.

    PRO: Siobhán Kirby Email-  Pro.nafianna@gmail.com

    Children's Protection Officer: Jenny Boggan

    Designated Liaison Person: Carmel O'Reilly Higgins

    Appointed Mandated Person: Phillipa Flynn