U21 A FC Final: First Ever Title for Na Fianna

    Ethan Devine bagged the crucial scores as Na Fianna scored a merited win over St Vincent's/Curraha in the U21 FA  final at Pairc Tailteann on Sunday afternoon.

    Na Fianna .....................1-16
    St Vincent's/Curraha .......1-10

    Dec Martin's men showed well to stem a St Vincent's/Curraha rally to outscore their east county opponents by 0-7 to 0-2 in the final third of the hour. 

    With Devine to the fore Na Fianna moved eight points clear with 18 minutes gone, 1-8 to 0-2. The goal arrived in the 16th minute with the impressive Shane Walsh providing the assist

    All bar two points of the Na Fianna tally came from play with eight different players contributing. 

    At the other end of the field, the Na Fianna defence impressed with Daniel Devine and Sean Rafferty prominent. 

    Six points to the good following Devine's goal, a strong Na Fianna side looked set to coast to honours. 

    Scoring contributions from Jack O'Connor and Conor Moriarity saw St Vincent's/Curraha chip away at the deficit. 

    By half-time the gap was down to four points, 0-7 to 1-8. 

    Despite losing Andrew Battersby to a black card in the lead-in to the break, St Vincent's/Curraha continued claw back the deficit. 

    With the first score of the second-half, sub Niall McLarnon netted from close range for St Vincent's/Curraha to leave just the minmum in it. 

    Jack McNally stemmed the tide against Na Fianna with a point, assisted by Devine, Kean Flynn and Shane Walsh. 

    By the end of the third quarter, Na Fianna were 1-11 to 1-8 clear. 

    Na Fianna regained command in the latter stages with Devine's pointed 50-metre free into the town end capping a memorable afternoon for the club. 

    Jack O'Connor landed the final score of the game, in stoppage time, after a heavy shower brought the curtain down on proceedings. 

    Na Fianna - Conor Heffernan; Daniel Devine, Sean Rafferty, Sean Coffey (0-1), Oran Smullen, Peter Slevin; Shane Walsh (0-1), Eoin McDonnell (C) (0-1); Jack McNally (0-3), Ethan Devine (1-6, 1f 1 45), Luke Kelly (0-1); Kean Flynn, Sean Martin (0-2). Subs - Ronan Byrne (0-1) for Kelly (52), Glen McDonnell for McNally (60 + 2)

    St Vincent's/Curraha - Evan Connor; Andrew Moriarity, Conor Harford; David Corry, Brian Joyce, Nigel Hand; Brian Murphy (0-1), Jack Byrne (0-1); Andrew Battersby, Jack O'Connor (0-4, 1f), Eoghan Corry; Conor Moriarity (0-3, 1f), Sean Keogh (0-1). Subs - Niall McLarnon (1-0) for Battersby (bc 27), Leo Corry for Hand (52), Ian Battersby for David Corry (59)

    Referee - Martin Griffin (Simonstown)

    * Report from Hoganstand.com



    Important Contacts Na Fianna

    Secretary: Nicola Kilcoyne Email- Secretary.nafianna.meath@gaa.ie.

    PRO: Siobhán Kirby Email-  Pro.nafianna@gmail.com

    Children's Protection Officer: Jenny Boggan

    Designated Liaison Person: Carmel O'Reilly Higgins

    Appointed Mandated Person: Phillipa Flynn