Leinster JHC Final: Na Fianna 1-11, D'Maggin 3-17

    Dunnamaggin (Kilkenny) 3-17

    Na Fianna (Meath) 1-11


    Ronan Coffey posted 2-5 as Dunnamaggin recovered from a slow start to overwhelm Na Fianna in the Leinster club JHC final at Nowlan Park.

    Underdogs Na Fianna came roaring out of the starting blocks to lead by 0-5 to 0-1 after 14 minutes, but their Kilkenny hosts eventually found their feet and hit back with goals from Coffey and John Fitzpatrick as well as points from Coffey (three), Thomas Maher (two) and Fitzpatrick (two) to take a 2-6 to 0-7 lead into the interval. 

    Na Fianna's first half point scorers were Barry Slevin (three), Peter Slevin (two) and Jonathan McCloskey and Ethan Devine.

    Dunnamaggin put the game beyond their opponents' reach on the restart when they hit an unanswered 1-4, with Coffey swooping for his second goal. The visitors were given hope when Barry Slevin netted from a long-range free at the end of the third quarter, but Dunnamaggin didn't panic and ran out comfortable winners.

    Dunnamaggin - S O'Neill; M Heffernan, N Hickey, J Brett; M Cody (0-1), W Phelan, A Fitzpatrick (0-1); D Fitzpatrick (0-2), E Kearney (0-1f); T Maher (0-3, 1f), R Cody, J Fitzpatrick (1-3); R Coffey (2-5), I Walsh, A Fitzpatrick. Subs: D O'Keeffe for T Maher, L Fitzpatrick for A Fitzpatrick, A Kearney (0-1) for R Cody, S Connery for E Kearney, P Kirwan for I Walsh.

    Na Fianna - E Reilly; S Coffey, E Mullally, S Slevin; D Bailey, D Gleeson, N O'Sullivan; E Devine (0-2), B Slevin (1-4, 1-2f, 0-1'65); J McCloskey (0-1), P Slevin (0-3), C Slattery; S Martin, M Slevin (0-1), R Byrne. Subs: K Flynn for C Slattery, S Walsh for J McCloskey, S Burke for D Gleeson, C Redmond for S Slevin, O Coffey for R Byrne.

    Referee - K Brady.


    * Report from Hoganstand.com  



    Important Contacts Na Fianna

    Secretary: Nicola Kilcoyne Email- Secretary.nafianna.meath@gaa.ie.

    PRO: Siobhán Kirby Email-  Pro.nafianna@gmail.com

    Children's Protection Officer: Jenny Boggan

    Designated Liaison Person: Carmel O'Reilly Higgins

    Appointed Mandated Person: Phillipa Flynn