AFL Div 1: Na Fianna 1-15, O' Mahony's 1-12

    Visitors Na Fianna resisted a strong O'Mahonys' rally to claim the spoils in this Seamus Connolly Catering A FL Division 1 clash on Friday night.

    Na Fianna ........ 1-15
    O'Mahonys ....... 1-12

    A slick young Baconstown-Enfield outfit laid the foundations for this success during the second quarter during which time they outscored the hosts by 1-4 to 0-4. They were ahead by 1-8 to 0-6 at the break having led by seven points at one stage.

    Shane Walsh was a leading figure in attack for Na Fianna and his 17th minute goal, expertly tucked to the net with assistance from Daniel Queeney left it 1-5 to 0-2.

    Walsh finished with 1-5 to his name while Ethan Devine topped an influential display with the point of the game in the 52nd minute that made it 1-12 to 1-9.

    O'Mahonys weren't finished and sub Cathal Smyth capped a cameo with a brace of points that cut the deficit to the minimum by the 58th minute.

    In the time remaining Daniel Queeney (free) and Sean Martin posted the points the secured the spoils for Na Fianna.

    O'Mahonys led for the only time courtesy of Sean Smith's opening score. The sides were tied twice before Na Fianna gradually pulled clear.

    Kevin Reilly's men weren't helped by five first-half wides (one more than Na Fianna) and a similar number of scoring efforts that dropped into the arms of Shane Geraghty.

    Geraghty came to his side's rescue when keeping out two O'Mahonys' goal attempts in the run-in to the interval. The first save resulted in a 45 that team captain Cormac McGuinness pointed for the last score of the half.

    O'Mahonys made no headway in the third quarter during which time their 'keeper Marcas Brennan denied Shane Walsh a goal.

    Then, at the start of the final quarter McGuinness halved the deficit with a well-stuck goal with Shane Gillespie providing the final pass.

    That set up an exciting finale with Na Fianna proving their worth by holding on for the much-welcome win.

    Na Fianna - Shane Geraghty; Damien Downey, Evan Mullally, Daniel Devin; Oran Smullen, Anthony Neary, Sean Rafferty; Owen McDonnell, Michael Collins; Conor Downey (0-2), Ethan Devine (0-1), Sean Martin (0-3); Barry Slevin (0-1), Daniel Queeney (0-3, 1f), Shane Walsh (1-5, 0-3fs). Subs - Ronan Byrne for Slevin (60), Jack McNally for Collins (60).

    O'Mahonys - Marcas Brennan; James O'Malley, Niall McKeigue, Ian Matthews; Darragh Smyth, Conor Doyle, Evan Power; Daragh Maguire, Conor Finnegan; Aodhan Mallon, Paul Whelehan (0-2), Sean Smith (0-1); Shane Gillespie (0-3), Cormac McGuinness (1-1, 0-1 45), Robbie Keeleghan (0-3, 2fs). Subs - James O'Reilly for Matthews (ht), Patrick Leahy for Mallon (44), Cathal Smyth (0-2) for Doyle (50).


    * Report from hoganstand.com



    Click here to pay your Na Fianna CLG Club Membership Online.