U16 FL Final: NF 4-11, Oldcastle 1-13
    U16 Football Summer League Section D Final: Na Fianna Claim the Honours

    Na Fianna: 4-11
    Oldcastle: 1-13

    Na Fianna held off a spirited Oldcastle side to seal an excellent win on Wednesday night in Dunganny.

    Na Fianna opened the scoring with an excellent Luke Kelly point from a difficult angle but this was followed by four Oldcastle points, who looked like they might run away with the game.

    Daniel Ferguson replied for Na Fianna but Oldcastle hit back with two points. Two Adam Farrell points and a Ciaran McDonnell goal that was finished low and hard to the net put Na Fianna one up. Again, Oldcastle drew level but Na Fianna turned on the style in a devastating six minute display. Luke Kelly hit 2-01 as he caused havoc, while impressive substitute Cormac Rafferty also claimed a goal followed by points from Oisin McCloskey and Ciaran McDonnell.

    Na Fianna went to the half time break with a commanding 4-07 to 0-10 lead. Oldcastle battled back into the game in the second half and Na Fianna were thankful to Daire Slattery in goals who made some outstanding saves. Luke Kelly, Oisin McCloskey and Cormac Rafferty added more points while Daire Flynn kicked a fine point when cutting through the defence. Oldcastle did find the net but it was not enough claw back the lead as Na Fianna claimed the title,

    Na Fianna had excellent performances from Daire Slattery in goals, Eoin Stewart, Andrew Holton, Daire Flynn, Oisin McCloskey, Luke Kelly, Ciaran McDonnell and Adam Farrell while Cormac Rafferty made a telling impact when introduced as a substitute.

    Na Fianna:
    Daire Slattery, Kevin Korsinsky, Eoin Stewart, Andrew Holton, Ciaran Regan, Oisin McCloskey (0-2), Daire Flynn (0-1), Daniel Ferguson (0-1), Ciaran Keogh, Paddy Flynn, Luke Kelly (2-03), Ciaran McDonnell (1-01), Jack Flynn, Adam Farrell (0-2, 1f), Stephen Maher.
    Subs: Cormac Rafferty (1-01), Senan Fagan, Rian Forde, Ben Stewart.

    * Pictured is Na Fianna captain Eoin Stewart receiving the Shield from Frank Gallogly of Meath Co Board.


    Click here to pay your Na Fianna CLG Club Membership Online.